Housing academics say:

Housing academics say:









As academics involved in housing, planning and urban policy, we believe the proposals in the housing and planning bill will do little or nothing to alleviate the housing crisis. Among our greatest concerns are plans to:

  • Significantly reduce the number of genuinely affordable homes
  • Require councils to subsidise housing associations right to buy discounts, with no guarantee of replacement homes at similar rents in the same area.
  • Introduce means testing and “Pay to Stay” deals if household income exceeds £30,000 (£40,000 in London), radically undermining the stability of mixed communities and disincentivising work.
  • Discriminate against Gypsies and Travellers by reducing potential housing sites.
  • Abolish lifetime tenancies, ensuring that council tenants will not be able to plan their lives any further than five years into the future.

Decades of rigorous study into housing provision around the world suggest that these proposals will fuel rising housing costs, diminish local government resources, fatally undermine alternatives to market-based housing provision and ultimately increase the displacement of vulnerable communities and elevate eviction rates. This is not a solution to a crisis, but an accelerant that, in the process of changing the housing landscape, will devastate communities and families across the country.
Dr Alex Rhys-Taylor Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Alexandre Apsan Frediani Bartlett Development Planning Unit
Dr Anamik Saha Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Andrew Williams Cardiff University
Dr Ben Campkin Bartlett School of Architecture
Dr Bob Colenutt University of Northampton 
Dr Camillo Boano Bartlett Development Planning Unit
Dr Charlotte Bates Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Claire Colomb Bartlett School of Planning
Dr Claire Melhuish UCL
Dr Colin Marx Bartlett School of Planning
Dr David Madden London School of Economics
Dr Duncan Bowie University of Westminster
Dr Edward Denison Bartlett School of Planning
Dr Elaine Forde University of Wales, Trinity-Saint David
Dr Emma Jackson Goldsmiths University of London
Dr Francesca S Sartorio Cardiff University
Dr Hannah Jones University of Warwick
Dr Huw Thomas Cardiff University
Dr Isaac Marrero Guillamon Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Jane Rendell UCL
Dr Jennifer Mindell UCL
Dr Katie McClymont UWE Bristol
Dr Kerry Harman Birkbeck
Dr Kirsteen Patton UCL
Dr Lisa Mckenzie LSE
Dr Luna Glucksberg Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Matthew Beaumont UCL
Dr Max Farrar Leeds Beckett University
Dr Mellissa Fernandez Birkbeck and LSE
Dr Michael Short Bartlett School of Planning
Dr Michaela Benson Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Murray Fraser Bartlett School of Planning
Dr Paul Greenhalgh Northhumbria University
Dr Rebecca Ross Central St Martins
Dr Sharon Wright University of Glasgow
Dr Simon Parker University of York
Dr Sophia Psarra Bartlett School of Planning
Dr Stuart Hodkinson University of Leeds
Dr Susan Pell Richmond University
Dr Tom Slater University of Edinburgh
Dr Tony Manzi University of Westminster
Dr Vickie Cooper Open University 
Dr William Davies Goldsmiths, University of London
Dr Yasminah Beebeejaun Bartlett School of Planning
Dr Róbinson Rojas Sandford Bartlett Development Planning Unit
Professor Caroline Knowles Goldsmiths, University of London
Professor Danny Dorling University of Oxford
Professor Emeritus Mike Gibson London South Bank University
Professor Jenny Pickerill University of Sheffield
Professor Les Back Goldsmiths, University of London
Professor Loretta Lees University of Leicester
Professor Marjorie Mayo Goldsmiths, University of London
Professor Nick Ellison University of York
Professor Rebecca Tunstall University of York
Professor Rob Imrie Goldsmiths, University of London
Professor Robin Hambleton University of West of England
Professor Roger Burrows University of Newcastle
Professor Tim Marshall Oxford Brookes University
Professor Michael Hebbert Bartlett School of Planning
Professor Nick Gallent Bartlett School of Planning
Rafaella Lima UCL
Robert Croydon Cardiff University
Sarah Keenan Birkbeck Law School
Tara Hipwood RIBA Cardiff University
Adam Sheppard University of West of England
Andy Pennington University of Liverpool
Darren Baxter University of York
David McGuinness Northhumbria University
Imogen Slater Goldsmiths, University of London
Johanna Jokio University of Glasgow
Michael Edwards UCL
Pablo Sendra Bartlett Development Planning Unit


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s